Comprehensive Resources for Princeville, Kilauea and Hanalei residents and visitors

Hawaiian Islands

The Hawaiian islands is an archipelago that spans 2,000 miles to the southwest of the contiguous United States, consisting of 137 volcanic islands. The seven largest islands are Niʻihau, Kauaʻi, Oʻahu, Molokaʻi, Lānaʻi, Maui, and Hawaiʻi, the latter also known as the Big Island.
    Island Hawaiian Nickname Area Island Population (2020) Island Color Island Flower
    O’ahu The Gathering Place

    597.7 sq miles

    44 miles by 30 miles


    953,207 Yellow Ilima

    The Big Island


    4,028.0 sq miles

    93 miles by 76 miles


    186,738 Red Lehua
    Maui The Valley Isle

    727.2 sq miles

    48 miles by 26 miles


    144,444 Pink Loke Lani

    The Garden Isle


    552.3 sq miles

    33 miles by 25 miles


    66,921 Purple Mokihana

    The Friendly Isle


    260.0 sq miles

    38 miles by 10 miles


    7,345 Green Kukui

    The Pineapple Isle


    140.5 sq miles

    18 miles by 13 miles


    3,135 Yellow Kauna’oa

    The Forbidden Isle


    69.5 sq miles

    18 miles by 6 miles


    170 White Pup